My threesome with turtles

As a kite surfing instructor, you spend many hours at the beach, in and out of the water. The day this happened, Andre (friend and colleague) and me were waiting at the beach for the first client. Suddenly at 70 meters from the shore approximately we saw this big animal floating. We supposed it was a dead or hurt turtle because it was barely moving. Having snorkels at hand and nothing better to do, we went swimming to investigate.

When we arrive to the spot, we find out that they were two turtles and they were not hurt or dead but enjoy a sex session in the Mexican Caribbean (highly recommended to all our readers).

mexican caribbean kitesurf - kiteboarding school in tulum

The female was much bigger than the male and her head was even bigger than mine. The male was grabbing the female shell with his fins, being the female the one in charge of swim and go to the surface for air. For what I saw, the female do almost all the job and the male just enjoy her.

When the female saw us, she try to swim away but she was too slow because the male was grabbing her so she start to act defenseless pointing her head to us (to bite us I supposed). And then I feel a bite in my leg so I swim away to scape and when I turn my head to see I realized it was Andre doing a practical joke.

mexican caribbean kitesurf - kiteboarding school in tulum

Then I had the very bad idea of grab the male shell (this was wrong and I swear this won’t happen again) for a moment, the female was swimming for the three of us having a threesome inter species. Looked like the male didn’t care having me on his back but then the male release the female and swing one way, the female swim another way and of course I let the male go between bubbles and fins. Once again this was wrong and I swear I won’t interfere in turtle’s sex life never again.

mexican caribbean kitesurf - kiteboarding school in tulum
Mexican Caribbean Kitesurf - kiteboarding school in Tulum (Mexico)

Great picture from our friend David Clusiau (Minnesota)

